Haven vs Warbonnet and Amok: which flatter hammock is right for you? All three aim for a flatter night than a classic gathered-end hammock, but they get there differently. The Warbonnet Ridgerunner is a bridge hammock: spreader bars at the head and foot make a flatter lay, and you add your own pad or underquilt and tarp. The Warbonnet Blackbird XLC is an asymmetric gathered-end hammock that Warbonnet describes as giving a "lay-flat, diagonal lay". The Amok Draumr 5.0 is a flat-lay hammock built around an inflatable sleeping pad, with a chair mode for sitting up. A Haven is a lay-flat hammock tent that comes as a complete kit, with insulated pad, bug net and rainfly. Warbonnet and Amok are lighter and more modular; Haven puts everything in one box.
Haven Tents makes the Haven, so read this knowing that. Warbonnet and Amok specs below come from their own product pages, checked on 21 October 2026 (see Sources at the end).

Quick comparison
| Haven (Tent, XL, Safari, Spectre) | Warbonnet Ridgerunner | Warbonnet Blackbird XLC | Amok Draumr 5.0 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Lay-flat hammock tent (complete kit) | Bridge hammock with spreader bars | Asymmetric gathered-end hammock | Flat-lay hammock with chair mode, made for an inflatable pad |
| Size | Sleeping platform: Haven Tent 78 x 24 in; XL, Safari and Spectre 80 x 30 in (203 x 76 cm) | 7 ft long; 44 in wide at head and foot, 32 in in the middle; fits users up to 6 ft 6 in | Body 11 ft x 62 in; 112 in ridgeline | Two lengths: LW for users up to 5 ft 11 in (180 cm), XL up to 6 ft 11 in (210 cm) |
| People | One per Haven | One user | Not stated | One (Amok sells the Draumr Double for two) |
| Weight rating | 285 lb (Tent, XL, Spectre); 350 lb (Safari) | 200 lb single layer; 250 lb double layer (Warbonnet's comfort ratings) | Single layer: comfort up to 250 lb, max load 300 lb; up to 400 lb in the Heavyweight Double | 400 lb / 180 kg |
| Insulation underneath | Insulated air pad in the kit; no underquilt needed | Not included: a pad (the double layer makes a pad sleeve) or a Warbonnet Lynx underquilt | Not included: Warbonnet Yeti or Wooki underquilts | Not included: an inflatable pad is needed (Amok's Fjøl pads, or a compatible pad of your own) |
| Bug net | Built in | Built in (a no-net version is available) | Removable net included | Integrated |
| Rainfly | Included (Tent, XL and Safari flies rated 4,000 mm; the Spectre fly covers its mesh body) | Not included; tarps sold separately | Not included; tarps sold separately | Not included; Amok recommends its Skjold tarps |
| Setup needs | Two trees, or the Haven Stand | Two anchor points; choose a suspension option | Two anchor points; choose a suspension option | Two anchor points; 2 x 290 cm knot-free tree straps included |
| On the ground | Bivy mode (use a footprint under the Spectre) | Not listed | Can be set up on the ground as a bug bivy, with a groundcloth and pad underneath | Not listed |
| Weight | See each product page | Hammock 15-17 oz (single layer) plus 12 oz spreader bars, without suspension | 19 oz (single layer), without suspension | LW 1329 g / 46.9 oz; XL 1434 g / 50.1 oz, including bug net, straps, stuff sack and poles |
| Price | See current prices: Tent, XL, Safari, Spectre | From $130 | From $200 | From $239.95 (XL $259.95) |
Prices are in USD as shown on each maker's site on 21 October 2026, for the hammock only (Warbonnet's price changes with the options you pick). Check each page before you buy.
Three ways to get flatter
Bridge hammock (Ridgerunner). Spreader bars at the head and foot hold the fabric open, and the hammock hangs like a suspension bridge, so you lie straight rather than diagonally. Warbonnet notes it works with a standard camping pad, which an end-gathered hammock doesn't do as well, and that users over 250 lb often find it too narrow.
Asymmetric gathered-end (Blackbird XLC). A long, wide gathered-end hammock cut so you lie on a diagonal with a footbox, which flattens the lay without spreader bars. It's light and simple, and Warbonnet's XLC can also go on the ground as a bug bivy.
Pad-based flat lay (Draumr 5.0 and Haven). Both are designed around an inflatable pad that makes the bed flat and firm and insulates you from the air below. Amok sells the hammock and lets you choose the pad and tarp. A Haven comes with its pad, which is sized to the platform and works with the spreader bars, support arcs and ridgeline to hold the space open (how the Haven design works). The Draumr also converts into a chair; the Haven Safari and Spectre have a lounge strap for sitting up.
Where Warbonnet and Amok do better
- Weight. A Ridgerunner, Blackbird XLC or Draumr on its own is lighter than a Haven kit, and Amok's Draumr Ultralight is lighter still. Depending on the tarp and insulation you pick, a complete modular setup may come in lighter too. See the Haven product pages for kit weights to compare.
- Choice. You pick the fabric, suspension, tarp and insulation. If you already own a good tarp, pad or underquilt, you only buy the hammock.
- Weight rating and height. The Draumr 5.0 is rated to 400 lb and the XL fits users up to 6 ft 11 in; the Heavyweight Double Blackbird XLC goes to 400 lb.
- Couples. Amok's Draumr Double takes two pads side by side. Every Haven is built for one person.
- Up-front price. The Ridgerunner starts at $130 for the hammock alone, so you can spread the cost and add a tarp and insulation later.
Choose Haven if…
- You want one kit with the insulated pad, bug net, rainfly, straps, guylines and stakes, ready to hang.
- You'd rather not research and match a tarp, pad and suspension.
- You want a pad that's part of the structure and sized to the platform, with no underquilt needed.
- You want a choice of builds: the ultralight Spectre, the 24-inch Haven Tent for smaller campers, the roomier XL or the 300d canvas Safari rated to 350 lb.
- You want a ground option: every Haven pitches in bivy mode.
Choose Warbonnet or Amok if…
- You count every ounce and want to build the lightest system you can.
- You already own a tarp, underquilt or a compatible pad.
- You want a bridge hammock's straight lay (Ridgerunner) or a simple asymmetric hammock (Blackbird XLC).
- You want a chair mode, a two-person version, or a 400 lb rating (Draumr).
Comparing other options? See Haven vs Kammok and ENO, Haven Tent for Backpacking, our roundup of lay-flat hammock tents compared, Haven vs ground tents and how a lay-flat outdoor sleep system works.
Sources
Specs and prices checked 21 October 2026 on the makers' own pages: Warbonnet Ridgerunner Hammock and Blackbird XLC (Gen3); Amok Draumr 5.0 and Draumr Double. Warbonnet's weight ratings are comfort ratings, as Warbonnet explains on its pages. Specs a maker doesn't list are marked "Not listed" or "Not stated". Haven specs from the Haven product pages linked above.




Comments (0)
No comments yet — be the first!
Leave a Comment